Unfolding of Iran Resolution Vote: What was not Mentioned in the News!

Mar 24, 20110 comments

Geneva, Switzerland–Twenty two member states of the United Nations Human Rights Council voted for a resolution against Iran, approving the appointment of a special human rights rapporteur for Iran, while 7 voted against it and 14 abstained. At the meeting, the Iranian diplomatic delegation presented its defense against the approval of the resolution by spending most of its time on attacking the violations of human rights in the US and accusing the Council of having been used, and distancing itself from the main topics of the resolution. The Iranian representative who appeared stressed even lost Brazil’s support. Voting for the resolution, Brazil rendered months of lobbying on the part of the Iranian government ineffective. Iran’s usual supporters such as Pakistan, Cuba, China, and a few other countries voted against the resolution, but Brazil on whose vote Iran had counted issued a calculated statement and defended the resolution and the appointment of the special rapporteur. The Mood in the Session When the topic of the resolution for Iran was brought up at the council, there was a heavy atmosphere at the meeting. Again, instead of sitting in their seats, several Iranian diplomats were walking by the entrance. There are different speculations about the Iranian diplomats. It is said that if such resolution is passed, some Foreign Ministry diplomats will not be too disappointed. Representatives from international human rights organizations and diplomats present at the Session believe that this is one of the most devastating failures of Iranian diplomats over the past years, considering the number of countries voting for and against the resolution. Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, France, Guatemala, Hungary, Japan, Maldives, Mexico, Norway, Poland, Moldova, Korea, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, US, and Zambia voted in favor of the resolution. Bangladesh, China, Cuba, Ecuador, Mauritania, Pakistan, and Russia voted against the resolution . Countries of Bahrain, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Djibouti, Gabon, Ghana, Jordan, Malaysia, Moritz, Nigeria, Uganda, Thailand and Uruguay abstained from voting. Abstentions are not counted and only votes in favor and against are considered in the outcome. Representatives from Angola, Kyrgyzstan, and Qatar did not vote at all and left the hall before the voting process began. One of the diplomats in the Ecuador delegation told the International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran that the head of the Ecuadorian delegation is personally embarrassed for voting against the resolution, but the decision for a negative vote had come directly from the Ecuadorian president after he spoke with Mahmoud Ahmadinejad personally. Source: http://www.iranhumanrights.org/2011/03/unfolding-of-iran-resolution-vote-what-was-not-mentioned-in-the-news/